Policy overview
The Meghalaya Cabinet approved the Meghalaya Electric Vehicle Policy 2026 on 27 July 2026. Unlike states still operating older EV policies, Meghalaya has taken a fresh Cabinet decision after the five-year 2021 framework reached the end of its original road-tax exemption window on 31 March 2026.
What is publicly confirmed
| Policy | Meghalaya EV Policy 2026 |
| Cabinet approval | 27 Jul 2026 |
| Headline purchase incentive | ~ / up to ₹25,000 |
| Registration charges | 100% waived |
| Vehicle categories named | E2W, E3W & E4W |
| EVs already on road | 5,000+ |
| Scrappage-linked benefit | Additional incentive planned |
| Charging sites | Commercial locations identified |
What is not yet safe to assume
- The exact ₹ incentive for each E2W, E3W and E4W category
- Whether the ₹25,000 figure is flat for every category or an overall maximum
- Vehicle price ceilings, battery-capacity formulae or quota limits under the new policy
- Whether the old road-tax exemption has been renewed after 31 March 2026
- The quantum of the extra benefit linked to scrapping a vehicle older than 15 years
- Any dedicated 2026 state incentive for eLCVs or electric buses
- The validity period and budget envelope of the new policy
Why All India EV is separating Cabinet approval from notification
A Cabinet approval tells the market what the government has decided politically. The detailed notification tells a buyer what can actually be claimed, by whom, against which vehicle and from what date. As of 12 August 2026, the public Cabinet communication is clear on the ₹25,000 headline incentive and registration-fee waiver, but the State's public policy-document pages do not yet expose the full category-wise 2026 policy text. This page therefore marks unconfirmed details as pending rather than filling the gaps with the older 2021 rates.
What the 2026 policy has actually confirmed
The new policy is intentionally simple in its public pitch: lower the upfront cost, remove registration charges, connect EV purchase with vehicle scrappage, and make charging easier to build.
| Direct EV incentive | Around / up to ₹25,000 |
| Registration charge | Fully waived |
| Two-wheelers | Covered |
| Three-wheelers | Covered |
| Four-wheelers | Covered |
| Scrappage certificate | Additional benefit planned |
| Commercial charging locations | Sites already identified |
| Charging rollout | Government says expansion can be facilitated |
| State EV base | 5,000+ vehicles |
| OMC EVPCS operational, Mar 2026 | 44 |
| OMC EVPCS installed, five-year total | 80 |
The scrappage link could be more important than it looks
Meghalaya notified its Vehicle Scrappage Policy in 2025. Under the new EV-policy announcement, an owner who scraps a vehicle older than 15 years, obtains the scrappage certificate and then buys an EV will be eligible for an additional benefit. The amount has not yet been finalised publicly. If the final notification makes this stackable with the ₹25,000 EV incentive, it creates a direct mechanism to remove older ICE vehicles rather than merely add new EVs to the road.
Electric two-wheelers (E2W)
Two-wheelers are explicitly included in the Meghalaya EV Policy 2026, but the detailed category-wise incentive formula is not yet publicly available in the full policy text.
| Covered under new policy | Yes |
| Headline purchase benefit | Up to / around ₹25,000* |
| Registration fee | 100% waived |
| Scrappage-linked benefit | Additional incentive, details pending |
| Exact E2W formula | Detailed notification awaited |
*Public Cabinet communication gives the ₹25,000 headline figure while also saying categories have separate structures. Treat ₹25,000 as the announced ceiling/headline until the detailed notification is published.
| Subsidy rate | ₹10,000/kWh |
| Eligible volume | First 3,500 E2Ws |
| Max ex-factory price | ₹1.5 lakh |
| Registration & road tax | Waived during policy period |
Electric three-wheelers (E3W)
E3Ws are also explicitly covered by the 2026 policy. For shared and commercial mobility, the final category rules will determine whether the new scheme is stronger or weaker than the previous ₹4,000/kWh structure.
| Covered under new policy | Yes |
| Headline purchase benefit | Up to / around ₹25,000* |
| Registration fee | 100% waived |
| Scrappage-linked benefit | Additional incentive planned |
| Commercial / permit provisions | Detailed notification awaited |
| Subsidy rate | ₹4,000/kWh |
| Eligible volume | First 200 E3Ws |
| Max ex-factory price | ₹5 lakh |
| Road tax & registration | Waived during policy period |
Electric four-wheelers (E4W)
Electric cars are named in the new policy, making the state incentive particularly relevant because central PM E-DRIVE does not provide a purchase subsidy for private electric passenger cars.
| Covered under new policy | Yes |
| Headline purchase benefit | Up to / around ₹25,000* |
| Registration fee | 100% waived |
| Scrappage-linked benefit | Additional incentive planned |
| Vehicle price ceiling | Not yet publicly confirmed |
| Renewed road-tax waiver | Not yet publicly confirmed |
| Battery EV subsidy | ₹4,000/kWh |
| Eligible volume | First 2,500 E4Ws |
| Max ex-factory price | ₹15 lakh |
| Strong hybrids | ₹4,000/kWh, first 30 |
| Road tax & registration | Waived during policy period |
The road-tax question matters more for cars
The 2021 policy waived both registration fee and road tax, and a specific Transport Department notification granted the road-tax exemption only up to 31 March 2026. The July 2026 Cabinet announcement clearly renews the registration-fee benefit but does not publicly confirm a fresh road-tax waiver. For an electric car buyer, that distinction can materially change the on-road saving, so the final notification should be checked before purchase.
Electric light commercial vehicles (eLCV)
The public 2026 announcement names two-, three- and four-wheelers but does not separately describe electric goods carriers or an eLCV incentive schedule.
| 2026 policy point | Status |
|---|---|
| Dedicated eLCV purchase incentive | Not publicly specified yet |
| Four-wheeler coverage | Policy announcement covers E4W broadly |
| Registration-fee waiver | Announced for EV buyers |
| Scrappage-linked support | Potentially relevant; details pending |
| PM E-DRIVE | Central e-truck support subject to scheme eligibility |
- Do not automatically apply the ₹25,000 headline figure to an eLCV until the detailed state notification defines category eligibility
- The scrappage linkage could become commercially important for replacement of older goods vehicles if the final rules include them
- For fleet TCO, registration-fee relief is only one layer; central e-truck incentives and operating economics need to be modelled separately
Electric buses (eBus)
The new Cabinet announcement is buyer-focused and does not publicly publish a 2026 state subsidy for electric buses. Bus electrification is nevertheless moving through central procurement programmes.
| Five PM e-Bus Sewa buses | Flagged off 9 Jun 2026 |
| Operating context | Shillong urban mobility |
| Dedicated 2026 state bus incentive | Not publicly specified |
| Central support | PM e-Bus Sewa / PM E-DRIVE ecosystem |
| State bus subsidy | ₹4,000/kWh |
| Eligible volume | First 30 eBuses |
| Max ex-factory price | ₹2 crore |
| Charging model | PPP encouraged |
Charging infrastructure
The new government announcement says commercial charging locations have already been identified. That starts from a relatively small operating base: only 44 OMC public charging stations were operational in Meghalaya as of 1 March 2026.
The 55% figure is calculated from the OMC dataset. The dataset does not cover every private, captive, hotel, fleet or non-OMC charger in Meghalaya.
- State says locations for dedicated commercial charging stations have already been identified
- The detailed 2026 charging subsidy, land terms and tariff support have not yet been published in the public policy text
- Meghalaya Power Policy 2024 already directs MePDCL to prepare a master plan for EV charging and encourage preferential tariffs with Time-of-Day metering
- Tourist and inter-city routes create a different siting problem from dense urban charging in Shillong
- Slow and fast charging in government buildings and public places through public and private participation
- Priority electricity connections and attractive electricity tariffs for EV charging stations
- Charging at MTC depots, ISBT, DC offices, Secretariat, State Central Library, parking lots, hotels, malls, cinemas and apartments
- Government land, wherever available, free of cost for the first five years under PPP before moving to revenue sharing
2021 policy vs 2026 policy
The shift is from a detailed battery-capacity-and-quota architecture to a much simpler public 2026 message. The full notification will show whether the simplicity is only communication or a genuine redesign.
| Policy element | 2021 framework | 2026 position |
|---|---|---|
| E2W incentive | ₹10,000/kWh; first 3,500 | ₹25,000 headline; exact formula pending |
| E3W incentive | ₹4,000/kWh; first 200 | ₹25,000 headline; exact formula pending |
| E4W incentive | ₹4,000/kWh; first 2,500 | ₹25,000 headline; exact formula pending |
| Registration fee | Waived during policy period | 100% waiver announced |
| Road tax | Waived; specific notification to 31 Mar 2026 | Fresh waiver not yet publicly confirmed |
| Scrappage-linked EV benefit | Not a headline mechanism | Additional incentive announced |
| Charging | PPP, priority connection, land support | Commercial sites identified; full terms pending |
| Policy target | 15% EV adoption / ~20,000 EVs | New target not yet publicly detailed |
The cleanest 2026 accountability question
The 2021 policy started from only six EVs in Meghalaya as of October 2020 and aimed to facilitate about 20,000 EVs during the policy period. When the new policy was approved in July 2026, the government said the state had more than 5,000 EVs on its roads. The definitions and time windows are not identical enough for a perfect apples-to-apples scorecard, but the scale difference is still material: the state has built an EV base, yet the earlier 20,000-vehicle ambition was much larger than the 5,000-plus figure cited at the launch of the successor policy.
Policy timeline
Meghalaya's EV policy has now entered its second chapter.
Meghalaya EV Policy 2021 released
The state targets at least 15% EV adoption, roughly 20,000 EVs, early-adopter purchase incentives and a statewide charging ecosystem.
Road-tax exemption formally notified
The Transport Department grants EV road-tax exemption with immediate effect up to 31 March 2026.
Power Policy adds a charging-grid mandate
MePDCL is directed to prepare a master plan for EV charging and encourage preferential tariff structures with Time-of-Day metering.
Vehicle Scrappage Policy notified
This later becomes a building block of the 2026 EV policy, with extra incentive promised to eligible scrappage-certificate holders buying an EV.
44 OMC EV charging stations operational
Parliamentary data reports 80 OMC EVPCS installed in Meghalaya over the previous five years, with 44 operational.
Specific 2021 road-tax exemption window ends
The 2022 road-tax notification explicitly ran only until this date.
Five PM e-Bus Sewa buses flagged off
Shillong adds another piece to its public-transport electrification strategy.
Cabinet approves Meghalaya EV Policy 2026
₹25,000 headline incentive, complete registration-fee waiver, charging expansion and a scrappage-linked additional benefit are announced.
The detailed notification is the next document that matters
The market knows the headline benefits. The category-wise rates, eligibility limits, road-tax treatment, duration and implementation mechanics still need the full public policy text.
Frequently asked questions
Yes. The Meghalaya Cabinet approved the Meghalaya Electric Vehicle Policy 2026 on 27 July 2026. The public Cabinet announcement confirms a purchase incentive of around ₹25,000 and complete waiver of vehicle registration charges.
The government announced a headline incentive of around or up to ₹25,000. It also said two-wheelers, three-wheelers and four-wheelers have category-specific structures. Until the detailed notification is published, buyers should not assume that every EV category automatically receives an identical flat ₹25,000 payment.
Yes. Complete waiver of vehicle registration charges is one of the benefits explicitly announced when the Cabinet approved the Meghalaya EV Policy 2026.
The previous policy waived road tax, and the Transport Department's specific road-tax exemption notification ran until 31 March 2026. The July 2026 Cabinet announcement explicitly confirmed registration-fee waiver but did not publicly confirm a fresh road-tax exemption. Verify the final 2026 notification before relying on a road-tax saving.
The government has announced that owners who scrap a vehicle older than 15 years and use the scrappage certificate to purchase an EV will be eligible for an additional incentive. The amount and detailed rules were still to be finalised publicly at the time of the Cabinet announcement.
Oil Marketing Company data reported to Parliament shows 80 EV public charging stations installed in Meghalaya over the previous five years and 44 operational as of 1 March 2026. This is an OMC-only dataset and is not a complete count of all chargers in the state.
Sources & further reading
- Chief Minister's Office, Meghalaya — Cabinet decisions, 27 Jul 2026 — public confirmation of Meghalaya EV Policy 2026, ₹25,000 incentive and registration-fee waiver
- Times of India — Meghalaya nod to Electric Vehicle Policy 2026, 29 Jul 2026 — Cabinet approval and headline buyer benefits
- EastMojo — Meghalaya approves new EV policy, 28 Jul 2026 — charging-site identification and scrappage-linked incentive details
- Government of Meghalaya — Meghalaya Electric Vehicle Policy 2021 — primary source for the previous framework, targets, category incentives, charging and tax provisions
- Government of Meghalaya, Transport Department — EV road-tax exemption — specific exemption notification valid up to 31 Mar 2026
- Government of Meghalaya — Vehicle Scrappage Policy 2025 — predecessor framework referenced in the 2026 EV-policy announcement
- Ministry of Heavy Industries / PIB — EV charging infrastructure, 27 Mar 2026 — Meghalaya OMC network: 80 installed and 44 operational EVPCS as of 1 Mar 2026
- Government of Meghalaya — five PM e-Bus Sewa electric buses flagged off, 9 Jun 2026 — current public-transport electrification update
- Government of Meghalaya — Meghalaya Power Policy 2024 — MePDCL charging master-plan and preferential-tariff direction
Compiled by the All India EV Research Desk. Meghalaya EV Policy 2026 has been approved by the State Cabinet, but the detailed category-wise policy notification was not publicly available on the State policy-document portal when this page was compiled on 12 August 2026. Headline Cabinet-announcement benefits are therefore separated from the superseded 2021 policy provisions. Buyers and operators should verify the final Transport Department notification before relying on any category-specific incentive, road-tax exemption or eligibility condition.
